Keep up-to-date on your favourite artists and movies, track gig and release dates, and join in the conversation.
New SWITCHCast episode out now! Click here to listen to interviews with 'Rockabul's' Travis Beard and 'Thunder Road's' Jim Cummings.x
review, Number Station, Number, Station, cinema, cinema reviews, music, artist



By Charlie David Page
5th May 2012

After winning the Triple J Unearthed competition to play at Homebake in 2007, the five guys who make up Number Station have finally released their debut EP, 'Everything Will Change' - but it's well worth the wait.

Recorded in Melbourne and mixed by Chris Coady (who has previously worked with Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Grizzly Bear and TV on the Radio) at DNA Downtown in New York, the final result is a tight, enjoyable EP not afraid to show off the band's energy, versatility and emotion.


The five tracks come together to produce a very raw and emotion-driven experience. Despite a well-constructed and produced EP, 'Everything Will Change' leaves us with a warm series of tracks with a live feel. Chris Andrews' melodic voice leads us through some heavy guitars with his well-crafted stories.

Definite standouts from the EP are 'Broke' and 'Hold On'. The first takes us on a heart-wrenching journey full of melancholic devastation and regret. On the other hand, what 'Hold On' doesn't have in a soulful sounds, it makes up for with its catchy lyrics and a rocking guitar riff that gradually builds throughout the song.

'Everything Will Change' leaves us with a warm series of tracks with a live feel.

With a dynamic and heartfelt release, here's hoping the 'Everything Will Change' EP has been fortuitously titled for Number Station.

For all the details of their album launch dates, visit the Number Station Huddle page by clicking here.

Like it? Follow it. Hit the Follow button at the top of this page (you'll need to sign in or join first) to keep up to date with Number Station gigs, as well as news from the band.

BAND: Number Station
MEMBERS: Chris Andrews - Vocals, Keyboard
Marcus Smith - Guitar
Tom Beardsworth - Guitar, Keyboard
Jesse Burchat - Bass
David Amphlett - Drums
FORMED: 2006
FROM: Melbourne
SOUND: Indie Rock
FACEBOOK: numberstation
TWITTER: @Nmbrstn
© 2011 - 2019 midnightproductions
All rights reserved

Support SWITCH | Disclaimer | Contact Us